Picture
Big Brothers Big Sisters has been helping children since 1904. They provide at-risk children with a positive role model to be there for them, and help them through anything they need. In a 1994-1995 study, BBBS compared 950 children in the program to 950 children who were not in the program. These children in the program were 45% less likely to begin using illegal drugs, 27% less likey to begin using alcohol, 52% less likely to skip school, 37% less likely to skip a class, and 33% less likely to hit someone. I'd say those are some pretty incredible results! I had the chance to be a "High School Big", and by the time I was going to graduate, the child was doing better academically and socially. I witnessed this change myself, and I have to say, it's pretty amazing!




Leave a Reply.